Site Overlay

Independence Bowl History – Past Winners & Facts of the Now Advocare V 100 Independence Bowl

 Since the initial Bowl game in 1976, it produced 33 winning teams and every team has a Special story to share, a story of sportsmanship and bravery.

Meet McNeese State: The very first winner

The very first winner of 1976 Independence Bowl is McNeese State.The team played in the inaugural Independence Bowl game in 1976, and they got victory for a 20-16 over Tulsa. They make two more appearances in 1979 and 1980. In 1997 and 2002, the Cowboys football team has more recently played in two Division I-AA Finals.

McNeese’s renowned colors are blue and ufabetบนมือถือ gold. The men’s athletic teams are known as the Cowboys, while the women’s athletic teams are the Cowgirls.

The team with most wins

The football history of the University of Mississippi (also known as Ole Miss) is very exciting. It includes the formation of the state’s first football team and is 31st on the list of college football’s all-time most winning programs.

Ole Miss has participated in 32 bowl games with a good record of 20 wins and 12 losses. Particularly, Ole Miss’ win percentage of 0.625 and ranks third all-time among football teams that have played in 25 or more bowl games (a little behind USC and Penn State). Twenty bowl wins record also ranks them 12th all-time.

Mississippi has most wins in Independence Bowl Game with 5 wins. They hold the record for the year 1983, 1986, 1998, 1999, and 2002 accordingly.

2008 Winning Team

The Louisiana Tech Bulldogs football team is the official team of Louisiana Tech University in Ruston, Louisiana. They are currently competing in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision as a member of the WAC (Western Athletic Conference). At present, the team is led by Derek Dooley. He is the only Athletics Director/Head Coach in NCAA Division sports.

The Louisiana Tech Bulldogs football team played 4 times in Independence Bowl wit